Uncategorized

Lucy’s Winter Coat

Wow, it has been so long since I’ve posted anything…just been so busy around here, I haven’t sewn much and the things I have sewn, I haven’t had time to blog. But, I want to get back into the swing of things, and since Lucy needed a winter coat, I thought I’d start there. I have seen several jackets recently that were lined with Sherpa, so I decided I wanted to make just something simple (with no gathering or anything like that) and line it with Sherpa. I used the Burdastyle Quilted Baby Coat Pattern, but I didn’t quilt it (obviously) and I didn’t put any batting in. I used a pair of men’s brown corduroy pants that I got at the thrift store for the outer fabric and Sherpa from Joann’s for the inner layer. It was seeming a little too boyish, so I added some gathered pockets with bias tape and a little owl appliqué and some bias tape on the sleeve. This coat was so simple to make, which surprised me…I thought a coat would be a super difficult thing to make! I really love the simplicity of this pattern! I did make a mistake when I was almost all done with the coat…I was ripping open the first buttonhole and I sliced through it and through another inch…arghhhh! So, I did a tight zig-zag over that rip, but it’s definitely noticeable! Oh well, I still think it looks cute on her!

20140113-015512.jpg

20140113-084739.jpg
To complete the look (ha) I also made her a Bimaa Cowl Neck Sweater and some Lily Ruffler Pants.

For the Bimaa, I used a knit from Joann’s. I really like how hue cowl peeks out of the coat and looks like a scarf… It’s perfect for winter! Such a great pattern. For the pants, I used some baby corduroy from Hobby Lobby. I must say, this Lily Ruffler Pants Pattern is one of my new faves! They fit Lucy so nice and I just love them! This is the first pants pattern that I’ve found (other than leggings) that really fits her and looks cute! I did leave off the second ruffle. I made another pair of these pants in knit and they are so cute too! Have I mentioned that I love this pattern?! Ha ha.

20140113-085922.jpg

20140113-085949.jpg

20140113-090013.jpg

This is also my “Winter Wonderland” look for this week of Project Run and Play

15 thoughts on “Lucy’s Winter Coat

  1. This is so cute and I love the owl applique! A trick to keep from slicing your buttonholes open is to put a pin perpendicular at the end of the buttonhole. It will act as a stop for your ripper – it’s saved me many a time!

    1. Thanks so much! I bought the owl at Hobby Lobby! I was very pleased with it, cause I was having a hard time finding something cute to spice up the coat a little and I’m not a make my own appliqué kinda girl!

    1. Thanks! This was my first time using the Bimaa pattern! I have been eyeing it for awhile, but telling myself I don’t need it! Now I know I needed it all along ;-). I wish it came in bigger girl sizes too…it would look so cute on my nieces!

    1. Thank you so much! I didn’t have any trouble with the Sherpa, but the coat was such a simple pattern (and I got lucky) that I didn’t have any seams to rip out! I’m thankful for that! Ha ha.

  2. I love the shirt (I have got to try this pattern..I have it, but just haven’t gotten around to using it yet !),and the coat looks so cozy and warm.

Leave a Reply

