Uncategorized

Just Like Daddy

Part of the reason I started sewing was that we had SO MANY old clothes that we just could never find the time to donate (it’s silly, cause they’re in bins, but years went by and they were just sitting there). So one day, I thought “I just can’t buy anymore clothes until we do something with these old clothes”, and since the kids actually needed clothes at the time, I thought it would be cool if I could make all our old clothes into new clothes! Then my sewing obsession started and I started finding out how fun it is to buy fabric and I sort of lost track of that mission! But, this week’s theme for Project Run and Play is “The Refashion Challenge”, so I’m so excited to have gotten rid of a few things out of our old clothing pile!

Since my boys adore their daddy, I knew they would get a kick out of me making them clothes out of daddy’s old clothes! So, I made Henry a pair of plaid shorts from an old pair of daddy’s plaid shorts and a t-shirt from an old white shirt of daddy’s…

20140127-163506.jpg

20140127-163517.jpg

For the shorts, I used the Coastal Craze Baggies Pattern in size 4. I used woven fabric instead of knit as the pattern calls for and I’m very pleased with the result! I added welted pockets in the back, but otherwise followed the pattern exactly. For the shirt, I used The Basic Tee Pattern from MADE. It took all of about 15 minutes to sew up this basic shirt using my husbands’ old T-shirt. I was able to use the hems and even the ribbing. The shirt had stains, but I was able to avoid them. After I sewed the shirt, I dyed it green. I basically have ZERO idea what I’m doing when it comes to dying fabric, so it turned out really splotchy. I’m ok with that, though…gives it a tie-dyed look ;-). After it was dyed and washed and dried, I added the dog appliqué, using McCall’s 6545 for the pattern. Here’s my sweet little boy pretending it’s summer inside, since it’s WAY too cold to go outside!

20140127-165303.jpg

20140127-165317.jpg

20140127-165338.jpg

20140127-165522.jpg

20140127-165535.jpg

9 thoughts on “Just Like Daddy

    1. Thanks! I used a tutorial from Oliver and S’s blog for the welt pockets! It was super simple! I love your sweaters! I’m totally in up cycle mode now…I haven’t been fabric shopping in a few weeks even!

Leave a Reply

