Uncategorized

Sweatshirt and Cowl

20140305-165929.jpg

A couple months ago, I bought and made the Perri Pullover Pattern for Lucy in a size 2…she’s getting close to fitting into a size 2, but she’s still more of an 18-24 months kinda girl. Anyways, i was disappointed that the Perri Pullover I made was HUGE…not just a little oversized (cause I know it’s supposed to be a bit big), but it was down to her ankles and the neck hole was huge too. It was a better fit on my 3 year old (who is a boy, and wasn’t so thrilled to be trying on a pink sweatshirt dress), but I still thought the neck looked weird and oversized. In my mind, I wondered just how big the size 10 was if the 2 was so big. Recently, I noticed the same pattern is sold in an adult size and, since this pattern is just so darn cute, I was considering buying the adult pattern…but, I wanted to “test” the biggest size of the kid pattern, to see what it was like first. So, I made it, and, even though I don’t have a 10 year old to model it, it seemed much closer to what I would expect. Yeah, it fits me, but it’s supposed to be much looser and longer than it is on me! Now I’m eager to try the adult version!

20140305-171400.jpg

So, this morning I was talking to my mom about it, and I asked her what she thought I should do to spice this up a bit (it seems a little boring as just a plain blue sweatshirt). I was thinking of adding a pocket or appliqué, but my mom suggested just adding a scarf…brilliant! Plus, I had been eyeing The Free Katniss Cowl Pattern by See Kate Sew. Since I couldn’t wait to go to the thrift store to find a good sweater to make this, I dug through my bin of old clothes and found a black sweater that I never wore. But, I had to modify the pattern some because my sweater wasn’t very big and was sleeveless (I know, weird for a sweater). I love this…not something I would normally wear, but it feels fashionable to me 🙂

20140305-172303.jpg

Leave a Reply

