Uncategorized

Sequin Bubble Skirt

SONY DSC

Project Run and Play has begun again, and this year they are switching it up by inviting one designer every month to choose a free pattern or tutorial to feature. Then everyone can sew along using the chosen pattern/tutorial and you have the whole month to do it!!! woohoo! I really love this new format for a change because it’s way less pressure than trying to sew-along with 4 themes in 4 weeks and it highlights free patterns/tutorials that I may have never seen before. This month the free tutorial comes from Alida Makes and it’s her Easy Bubble Dress Tutorial. This was such an easy, fun tutorial, I had to play along!

SONY DSC

For my version, I decided to keep it simple and I followed the tutorial with just a few minor changes to make this fun, sparkly bubble skirt for Lucy using some sparkly, sequiny $2 fabric from Walmart. As the tutorial suggests, this was SO EASY to make… and it was rather magical the way it came together. Just when I thought I was doing it all wrong because it seemed all twisted, I turned it right side out and Voilà… it just all works!!!! super duper cool! These are the changes I made…

(1) obviously, I left off the straps and made a skirt instead of a dress.
(2) The tutorial says it fits sizes 4-10, so I needed to change the dimensions of my rectangles a bit to fit my 2 year old. I went ahead and used the same width as the tutorial, but I cut my main fabric 9″ long and my lining fabric 11″…this ended up being a bit shorter than ideal, I think. Next time I’ll cut the pieces an inch or 2 longer.
(3) In the step when I was making the elastic casing for the waist, the tutorial said to fold the main fabric an inch and a half to the back. Instead, I pulled it so the seam of the lining to the main fabric was at the top. This caused the 1.5 inches of extra main fabric to wrap under at the bottom of the skirt instead of the top. I did this so the scratchy sequiny fabric wouldn’t touch her skin at the waistband. Here’s a pic of the waistband and the bottom of the skirt.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

(4) Finally, I had to make the waistband casing all the way at the top of the skirt. I actually wanted it to end up like in the Alida Makes Tutorial with the waistband elastic being an inch down from the top of the skirt… more of a paper bag style skirt. But, I realized the skirt was a bit shorter than I had intended it to be anyways, so I didn’t have that extra inch 😦

Anyways, I absolutely love love love how this skirt turned out… now I have to make a bunch more!!!! I was even inspired by Alida’s styling of her daughter’s bubble dress, and decided to dig up my son’s old fedora to wear with it… so cute!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One thought on “Sequin Bubble Skirt

Leave a Reply

