Uncategorized

Upcycled Sweater Pants

Just because Kid’s Clothes Week is going on, and because my boys have been feeling pretty slighted in the Mommy-made clothes department, and because I was in the mood to make something quickly that would make the boys happy, I decided to make Henry a quick pair of pants from an old sweater. I used the Parsley Pants Pattern by Made By Rae, which is my go-to pattern for a basic pair of pants with no bells/whistles. This pattern is so simple, and only has one pattern piece… meaning there’s no side seam… just cut out two legs (yes front and back have different rises) and sew together. Plus, the fit is nice and easy and they are wide-ish legged, which my boys tend to prefer over a skinny leg. That’s why this pattern is great for comfy pants and pajama pants. I personally don’t love the way the pockets on this pattern don’t have a side seam to go into, which is the main reason I never use this pattern for trousers that I want to have pockets. Anyways, the pattern worked great for this little pair of sweater pants that took me about 15 minutes total to make… think no hemming and I just serged the elastic to the top of the waist, then folded it under and used my coverstitch machine to topstitch it down! easy peasy! And Henry was pleased as punch with these and says they are the most comfortable pants ever! Plus, I still have both sleeves of the sweater left, which I plan to use to make a pair of leggings for Lucy!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

After I made Henry’s 15 minute sweater pants, Sam decided he wanted me to make him a quick pair of comfy pants. Sam’s were trickier… since I was in the mood to upcycle and all I had in my pile of old clothes was one large navy sweatshirt plus just small scraps of both a grey sweatshirt and an orange sweatshirt (both of which I had already used the majority of for other projects. Anyways, I was really trying to be quick (my kids aren’t so patient!), and I pieced together a pair of sweatshirt Parsley Pants for Sam. I’m not pleased at all with my piecing job, but Sam loves these cause they are super duper comfy just like he likes his pants!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

And a couple pictures I took of the boys today…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

kid's clothes week

Leave a Reply

