Uncategorized

Haven Acres Mini Collection Tester Tour

SONY DSC

Warning: a lot of suckers were consumed in the making of this blog post!

The Haven Acres Mini Collection was just released by Jennuine Design and I got to be a tester! The collection features the Haven Acres Blouse, the Dressage Leggings and the Sweet Pea Cap patterns. These patterns are all on sale through February 15! This is a steal of a deal since both the leggings and the blouse come in sizes NB-12 and the cap in sizes 3M-12+! Plus, the leggings also include a really well-fitting pattern for basic leggings (without the color-blocking).

Ok, can I just say that I’m currently completely obsessed with the Haven Acres Blouse Pattern… it’s my favorite piece in the collection (although I love the other pieces too). I can’t stop thinking of different ways to make this! This dress is my 4th version and I have another version in my sewing area that’s almost finished (so stay tuned for that one later this week). From the moment I first saw it, though, I knew I wanted to use it to make a knit dress…I have been fixated recently on making knit dresses! For this particular one, I made the size 2 (so same as usual… no sizing up) and simply lengthened the skirt about 4 inches. The only other thing I did differently is I made a facing to finish the neckline instead of binding the neckline as the pattern instructs. Of course, I also hemmed it differently (only folded the hem and the sleeve hem in once), but that’s a given for knits vs. woven, at least for me!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I also ironed/sewed on a store-bought kitty applique only to entice this little stubborn 2 year old to want to put it on (she’s been very stubborn about putting clothes on lately!)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Just so I don’t leave out the other versions of the blouse as well as the other 2 patterns in the Haven Acres Mini Collection, I shall take you on a tour of the other items I made from the collection!

This was the first version of the Sweet Pea Cap that I made…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

And the first pair of Dressage leggings that I made (which I blogged about previously)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Both of these were made using early versions of the pattern, and fit was since tweaked… although, I still really like them!

Another knit Haven Acres Blouse made from the final version of the pattern (lengthened about an inch and a half to a tunic length)…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

And one final outfit using the final versions of all 3 patterns…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Wow, that was A LOT of photos. if you’ve made it to the end, go check out the rest of the tour happening at the Jennuine Design Site.

10960388_10153130612255827_4986501837384412782_o

Leave a Reply

