Uncategorized

Moccasins 1st Attempt

SONY DSC

Lucy really really needs a new pair of shoes. She has suddenly outgrown all her shoes and we seem to have several new pairs that I bought in advance that are way too big still (not sure what I was thinking there). Anyways, I plan to buy her some new shoes, but I thought it would be fun to try and make her some little moccasins in a fun color to run around in sometimes! The title of this post is a bit of a lie, cause I did try making her some moccasins last year, but she didn’t wear them a lot because they ended up being way too tight around her ankles and I wasn’t 100% pleased with the look of them or the vinyl I used either. So this is my first attempt for this year! I used vinyl again, but a thicker, more leather-like vinyl as opposed to the thinner, more table-cloth-like vinyl that I used last year. I did use real leather for the sole. I really want to make these again out of real leather, but I want to order some that’s a pretty color and see if she is comfortable in these before I waste a whole bunch of a pretty color of real leather!!!

SONY DSC

I used the Lil’ Papoose Moccasins Pattern by Peekaboo Pattern Shop for these, but I shortened the back fringe piece to the length of the back heel piece and I added a little middle fringe piece to look more like the Freshly Picked Moccasins. I made the size 18-24 months size, which is the size she wears in Robeez and what she measured for.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The dress she’s wearing is the Bohemian Baby-Doll Dress Pattern by Elegance and Elephants, by the way, made in a size 2, and it is one of my absolute favorites!! I admit I didn’t iron it this morning when I pulled it out of a dryer full of balled-up clothes that were dried 2 days ago! I wasn’t planning to photograph it, so please excuse the wrinkles!!

One thought on “Moccasins 1st Attempt

Leave a Reply

