Uncategorized

MCM Studio Designs Blog Tour

SONY DSC

I’m so excited to be a part of the MCM Studio Designs blog tour today! MCM Studio Designs is a new-to-me pattern company, and she has 3 really cute patterns in her shop. When I saw her blog-tour sign-up, I was excited to sign up and was especially drawn to the Estherlynn’s Jumper Pattern. Back when I signed up, it was middle of Winter here and I was eager to make Lucy an Estherlynn’s corduroy jumper to wear over long-sleeves and tights! But procrastination set in and by the time I got around to sewing the jumper, spring had come and warmer temperatures were here, so I thought it was best to make a more summery version!

SONY DSC

I sewed the jumper in a size 2 using cottons from my stash, but I shortened it quite a bit to make more of a longer top than a dress. The pattern has the options for a partial or full lining, and I chose to fully line with a thinner cotton. I also chose to leave off the apron piece, as I particularly like the look of a plain jumper. I used the biggest size pocket piece included in the pattern. The pattern also includes several applique options!

Overall, I really thought this was a super well-made pattern. The instructions were very thorough, the fit is great, and all the pattern pieces fit together nicely. The one thing I will do differently next time is cut the shoulder in a bit narrower. Just my preference, but I feel like it looks a bit wide shouldered for my daughter. I also want to experiment with adding some gathering to the skirt pieces to see what that looks like. It would be so easy to do to make for a different look, but I do still love the simple non-gathered A-line look of the pattern as-is, and my daughter needs one in corduroy for the winter!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Because of the tour, The Estherlynn Jumper Pattern as well as all 3 patterns from MCM Design Studios are 25% off using the code SPRINGSALE25 through April 25. For more inspiration, go check out the other lovely ladies on the tour!

blogtourlistingsmall

Not Sew Fast
Serger Pepper
Rebekah Sews
From A Box
Gloria June
Keep Calm and Carrion
Lulu & Celeste
Mae & K
Pienkel
Rebel And Malice
Once Upon A Sewing Machine
Call Ajaire
Hearts & Home

One thought on “MCM Studio Designs Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

