Uncategorized

Kid’s Clothes Week Day 1

Kid’s Clothes Week is here again! The theme this time is Wild Things, but I wasn’t creative enough on this outfit to use the theme. The truth is, I used Kid’s Clothes Week last night as an excuse to finish up some pants I was half done with, and start/finish a shirt that has been on my to do list for Summer! So, I finished my Mini Hudson Pants for Lucy that I started almost 2 months ago and I made Lucy an LOL Swing Top for the summer, since she had outgrown all the one’s I made last summer!

SONY DSC

For the shirt, I used the LOL Swing Top Pattern by Jennuine Designs and I made a size 2, but I did make a few changes. I was feeling lazy and wanted to avoid the gathers at the neckline and around the armholes in the back, so I took a dart out of the pattern piece before I cut that amounted to about half of the distance between the notches for the gathering. I also wanted to experiment with making the front swingier like the back, so I made a more drastic A-line on the front piece. I am very pleased with the turnout! I was a little worried that a swingier front was going to look weird, but I really like it!!! This shirt was feeling a little boring when I was done and I was thinking of adding an Applique, but in the end I decided a basic shirt that will match everything was a good addition to her wardrobe.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

For the pants I used the Mini Hudson Pants Pattern by True Bias and I made a straight size 2 with no modifications! Lucy really loved these pants when I put them on her because of the pockets… she doesn’t have many pairs of pants or shorts that have pockets!!!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

One thought on “Kid’s Clothes Week Day 1

  1. Cute outfit! What fabric did you use on those mini hudsons? I’ve sewn a few hudsons and it is such a good pattern! Definitely loved by my girl (and me)!

Leave a Reply

