Uncategorized

Itch To Stitch Birthday Blog Tour – Emily Culottes

I’m so excited to be a part of the Itch to Stitch Birthday Blog Tour today! I have been wanting (but afraid!) to start sewing for myself recently since I’ve seen so many other women in blogland sewing such great things for themselves! I have been admiring the Itch to Stitch patterns, so I was super excited to be invited to participate! I chose the Emily Culottes Pattern because it’s so different from anything I’ve ever worn, and I felt like stepping out of my leggings and joggers style comfort zone! For the tour we were asked to re-mix the pattern. Let me let you I on a little secret… I’m not that great at re-mixing patterns!! Most of the things I sew I just follow the pattern, maybe change or add a detail here and there, but I’m not one of these people who can take a dress pattern and make it into a coat for a boy. So, I decided to keep my re-mix as simple as possible and make a skirt.

SONY DSC

All I did to accomplish this was cut the pattern pieces down in a straight line, parallel to the grain-line, from the top of the rise down to the hem. I did this to both the front and back after taking out the pleat in front (which the pattern guides you through). Then I followed the pattern completely after that. I used the patch pockets from the pattern, which also has the option for welts. I really love the method used in the pattern for the patch pockets…I usually don’t like the look of lining patch pockets because you can see the lining a little bit from the side, but this pattern has a separate pocket lining piece that’s smaller than the pocket and the main pocket piece ends up folded over at the top. It’s hard to explain, but it all makes the patch pockets turn out super nice!! I also love the thick curved waistband with the invisible zipper on the side… her instructions for that are excellent too, and I needed the help because this is only the second invisible zipper I’ve ever done! Mine’s not quite perfect, but I’m super excited about it anyways 😉

SONY DSC

Here are a few more pictures…

SONY DSC

Back…

SONY DSC

Here’s my whole look. I will say, I should have picked a nicer shirt to photograph this with, but this is me and this was what I had clean to wear the day I took these. I have worn the skirt several times since these were taken and tried to pick more stylish shirts 😉

SONY DSC

Itch to Stitch Birthday Fun

(scroll to the bottom to enter to win!)

Follow these blogs to see their awesome creations from Itch to Stitch patterns:

Scruffy Badger Time | Call Ajaire | Wally and Grace | Sew Wrong | Bella Sunshine Designs
Seaside Notions | Made by Jaime | Sweet Little Chickadee | Inspinration | Friends Stitched Together
Stoney Sews | Just Keep Sewing | My Little Sewing Dreams | Allie J. | Creative Counselor
Love, Lucie | Girls in the Garden |  FABulous Home Sewn | Goddess of Sewing | Rebel & Malice
The Telltale Tasha | House of Estrela | Made by Sara | Sew Shelly Sew | Red Knits

Be sure to scroll to the bottom for your chance to win great prizes by these sponsors:

Itch to Stitch First Anniversary Sponsors

The Fabric Store – $100 Gift certificate

Elliott Berman Textiles – Fabric bundle from France & Italy

Craftsy – three online classes of your choice

Girl Charlee Fabrics – $25 Gift certificate

Indie Sew – $25 Gift certificate

UpCraft Club – $25 Gift certificate

Quarto Publishing Group USA – the SHIRTMAKING WORKBOOK by David Page Coffin

The featured designer of the day will give away 2 patterns to a lucky winner:

 Baste + Gather

Straight Stitch Designs

Megan Nielsen Patterns

Jamie Christina

Hey June Handmade

Wardrobe by Me

Filles á Maman

Follow Itch to Stitch’s blog closely to win these patterns!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

