Uncategorized

World Book Day Blog Tour

12794451_10153361689822409_5990986599494223738_n

World Book Day is on Thursday (March 3) and Rebecca of Dobbins Bobbins had the brilliant idea to organize a blog tour this week to celebrate the special day!

My very favorite book as a kid was The Secret Garden, so I made Lucy a dress inspired by The Secret Garden.

SONY DSC

I used the Caroline Party Dress Pattern by Mouse House Creations, which is such a beautiful, classic style.  For the fabric, I chose a sort-of toned down, dull-ish floral print with a grey-striped seersucker collar to represent the unkempt locked-away garden.  But inside, for the lining and for the pockets, I used a bright vibrant floral print to represent the beautiful garden that was within.

SONY DSC

This was my first time sewing The Caroline Party Dress Pattern and it was just such a pleasure to sew…I am completely in love!!!  I love the fit and the cut of the dress…and the little faux cap sleeves and the little peter-pan collar and the full-ness of the skirt…perfection!  I made the size 4…Lucy fell between size 3 and 4 in measurement, so I went up hoping it will last longer that way.  Lucy fell in size 3 for height, so I used a 2″ blind hem on the size 4 skirt…and the length is perfect!

So now complete picture overload!!!!!  I could have found a better background for these photos if it were summertime, but I couldn’t find an actual garden anywhere in February…although I lucked out with a 70 degree day so we did go to the park and at least found some green!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

ok, I guess you get the point 😉

But wait, there are some fabulous giveaways to be won, so head over to Dobbins Bobbins to enter

Don’t forget to check out all the other amazing blogs on the tour this week!

Sewn In The Attic
While she was sleeping
Just Add Fabric
Fairies, Bubbles & Co
English Girl At Home
As It Seams
Made by Sara
Sewing With Kate
MinnieMie
Call Ajaire
Sew Country Chick
Paisley Roots
Bel’Etoile

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “World Book Day Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

