Me · Me Bottoms

MG2716 Skirt

SONY DSC

Mingo & Grace is having a Sew Spring Contest for their Women’s MG2716 dress pattern, so I figured I’d sew up a little something since I LOVE the dress I made in the testing of the pattern so much!  The contest is happening over on instagram so make sure to go check out #mingoandgracepatterns to see all the beautiful dresses!

This time I wanted to make just a skirt with the fabulous large soft pleats that this pattern features! This skirt was a super simple hack of the dress pattern.

SONY DSC

I really followed the instructions for the dress, just replaced the bodice pieces with waistband pieces that I cut 2 1/2″ high and calculated the width based on the finished waist measurement provided by the pattern (LOVE that!)  So the finished waist of the size I chose was 32″…divide that by 2 to get 16″ front and back, add seam allowance and cut the front piece 17″ (2 seam allowances) and cut 2 back pieces 9 1/8″ (8″ for half the 16″ back waist + 5/8″ SA for zipper + 1/2″ SA for the side seam).  This worked out beautifully!  I cut outer and lining waistband pieces just like I would have for bodice pieces and just followed the instructions but with waistbands instead of bodices!  Super simple!  I did interface the outer waistband pieces.  This pattern has such a nice pleating guide and instructions to make these pleats!

SONY DSC

Here I am early in the morning 😉

 

SONY DSC

The skirt even has pockets!!!!

SONY DSC

I was trying to make a model face, but I just look mad!  Haha…I assure you I wasn’t mad!

SONY DSC

Check out the pattern here!

One thought on “MG2716 Skirt

Leave a Reply

