Girl · Girl Bottoms

Bubble Papillon Shorties

SONY DSC

Last week, I followed along with Shorts on the Line over on Imagine Gnats and got inspired to make Lucy one last pair of shorts.  To ease my guilt a little, I used corduroy to make these, so they can transition into fall!  The pattern is the newly-released Papillon Shorties by Lil’ Luxe Collection and I finally caved and bought it after seeing so many cute versions on social media 😉  I love the scallop detail of the flat-front waistband and the little pleats in front (which are hard to see with my busy fabric choice)!  The only small thing I changed about the pattern was I only hemmed 1/4″ then 3/8″ and I added some 1/4″ elastic in the hem to make bubble shorts…gotta get her in as many pairs of bubble shorts as I can while she can still pull them off!

SONY DSC

These shorts, like their Monarch top (which I recently tested) include instructions to make with all hidden seams!  I decided not to do the french seams on the side seams and inseam because I was worried about the extra bulk with my elastic hem.  I did french-seam the rises and enclose the waistband seams, as instructed in the pattern!

SONY DSC

 

See that piping?!  I cheated and just ironed the lining so it would peak out a little!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I really love this pattern and I see it being a staple next summer and I might even make a few more for fall 😉

Papillon Shorties by Lil’ Luxe Collection

 

2 thoughts on “Bubble Papillon Shorties

Leave a Reply

