Girl · Girl Bottoms · Girl Dresses · Girl Tops

Last Minute Back to School Outfit

SONY DSC

Today was Lucy’s firat day of school and I wasn’t planning to make her anything new to wear since it’s still so hot here and she has tons of acceptable summer clothes to wear, but I caved because I just recently bought this beautiful Les Fleur Cotton/Linen Canvas designed by Rifle Paper Company for Cotton and Steel and I wanted to use it immediately!

SONY DSC

I really wanted to make a dress or top that would show off the fabric and that could be worn with a shirt underneath for Fall and Winter, so I chose this Burdastyle A-line Dress Pattern, which also came with a cut line for a top-length.  I made the size 104 and cut this in between the dress and top length so she can wear it with leggings once it gets colder.  This top came out a bit big, but that will allow her to grow a bit and layer it 😉

SONY DSC

I made a couple modifications…instead of adding seam allowance to the armholes and neckline like the instructions say (Burdastyle pdf patterns do not include seam allowances) and use a bias facing finish, I opted to finish the edges with bias tape wrapped around the edge.  I happened to have some beautiful linen that perfectly matched!  I also lowered the neckline a little in front and back…just cause I thought the neckline looked insanely high in the pattern.

SONY DSC

I also made her a pair of Flared Shorts from Happy Handmade Sew Chic Kids and I’m pretty pleased with them…they are easy, comfy, and I love the style!  I used lightweight denim from Joann’s.

SONY DSC

I put a curved pocket on both sides of the pants for the girl who demands pockets!

SONY DSC

This girl was super excited to start school today and she was excited to get a new outfit for the occasion!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

