Boy · Boy Accessories · Girl · Girl Accessories

Kitty Slippers

SONY DSC

I was thrilled when I was asked to test The Wild Things Shoes For Big Kids Pattern by Twig + Tale (formerly Big Little)…I knew Lucy would LOVE these!  Since she wants to be Hello Kitty for halloween and I’ve been busy making her Hello Kitty costume, I have had Kitties on my brain, so I chose to make her Kitty slippers.  The pattern includes instructions and pattern pieces/face templates for 7 animals but I think with the pieces given and a little imagination you could make pretty much any animal you wanted!

For these, I used a tiny piece of an upcycled wool skirt for the outer and small scraps of a thrifted leather jacket for the sole.  For the lining, I used the super cozy Luxe fleece from JoAnn’s.  I used scraps of wool felt for the ears and I embroidered the face according to the pattern template.

SONY DSC

This fleece lining is SO soft!  I totally need a pair of these for myself!

SONY DSC

I was super surprised at how easily these came together…there were lots of little pieces to cut out and I took my time cutting to make sure I was as precise as possible, but once I started sewing, I was so pleasantly surprised at how they came together.  I have tried to make shoes 3 other times before and I really didn’t have a great experience in the past, but these were constructed a little differently than the other patterns I have worked with and were way easier in my opinion.  Also, they fit PURRRRRR-fectly 😉

SONY DSC

That deserves a happy dance!

Go check it out…the pattern is on sale for a limited time!

Twig + Tale Wild Things Shoes For Big Kids Pattern

 

 

Leave a Reply

