Me · Me Dresses

Bluezette Blog Tour

18767645_10209680121583091_3961985393840237306_n

Happy Memorial Day!  Today is also the first day of the Bluezette Pattern Blog Tour!  The Bluezette Pattern was released 2 years ago by Love Notions in both a women’s version and a girl’s version.  I have previously made the girls’ version (Upcycled Maxi Bluezette) so this time I was eager to try the women’s version for me!  I love this dress from Boden…it just looks like the perfect casual comfy summer dress and I love blue and white stripes!

17wsum_ww233_dbl_w01

So I used this as inspiration for my Bluezette

DSC07643

Yes, I know I look just like the Boden model 😉

DSC07651

I got this fabric from So Sew English and it’s a poly rayon spandex french terry .  This fabric is so soft and stretchy and drapey with a nice weight and it was super easy to sew!  I will definitely order more!

The Bluezette Dress Pattern has tons of options, including 2 bodice styles, 3 sleeve lengths, and 5 skirt options!  I chose the blousey bodice style and I made the following minor modifications to get the style I was going for.

(1) I used the sleeved version but left the sleeves off for a really wide strap tank…I have wide shoulders and would normally do a wide shoulder adjustment, but it worked as is since the shoulders should be narrower for a tank!

(2) I shortened the blousey bodice by an inch and a half just based on trying it on and wanting it to be a little shorter

(3) I used the A-line skirt provided, but I cut the hem midway between the shorter skirt and the maxi for a midi-length and I cut it into a rectangle using the top of the skirt as the rectangle width.

(4) I bound the armholes and neckline with binding instead of facings, but I used the pattern pieces provided for the facings…I had to take out the seam allowance in the armholes and neckline for this.

DSC07628

DSC07714

This dress is amazingly comfortable…probably one of the most comfortable dresses ever!  I wore it all day and I totally could have slept in it too!

Go check out the patterns…both patterns are on sale for the week of the blog tour!

Women’s Bluezette Dress Pattern

Girls’ Bluezette Dress Pattern

Enter the Rafflecopter for a chance to win $25 in Love Notions Patterns!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the other bloggers on tour

Monday: Sew Shelly Sew, The Wholesome Mama
Tuesday: Me Made
Wednesday: Sew and Tell Project, Harper Lu
Thursday: Doodle Number 5, Handcrafted by Red, Tales From a Southern Mom
Friday: Sew Sophie Lynn, Sewing Curves

Save

Leave a Reply

