Boy · Boy Bottoms · Boy Tops

Knit Rain Dance Romper

DSC05184

So I just HAD to try the Rain Dance Romper by Titchy Threads in knit (see my linen version and read my thoughts on the pattern itself here)!!   The pattern is made for wovens, but I thought the style would work really well in knits too!

DSC05189

For this version I used a super soft, nice weight, SUPER stretchy in all directions, super low recovery knit with really cheapy, paper thin ribbing with horrible recovery…arghhhh, I really wish I had used more stable fabrics…Laura (Pattern Designer at Titchy Threads) even recommended using a stable knit, but I got sucked in by the stripes and the green 😦  I didn’t size down on this one, and if I had used a more stable knit, I don’t think I would have needed to, but this one turned out a lot bigger than my linen version in the same size!  I still really love this and he has already worn it several times!  The sewing was super easy in knit (I think it was quicker to make in knit than in woven).  The only things I did differently were cut the arm and neck band pieces only 80% as long as the pattern pieces and I just serged the seams rather than using french seams as directed by the pattern.  Since the placket is interfaced, I found the sewing just as easy as wovens for the placket piece.

DSC05257

DSC05213

DSC05252

Check out the pattern here:

Rain Dance Romper by Titchy Threads

Leave a comment