Girl · Girl Tops

Origami Tour

21230966_10210437148108281_8347470961951696070_n

 

SONY DSC

When I signed on for this Love Notions Origami Tour, I knew immediately I wanted to make the Girls’ Origami into a sweatshirt for Lucy.  Since I had a plan so early on, I had plenty of time to order special fabric for this project!  I carefully chose this Light Pink Rayon Bamboo French Terry and this Art Gallery Inblue Cotton/Lycra and was very pleasantly surprised when the fabrics came!

SONY DSC

I made a few slight modifications to the pattern:

(1) I added the hood from the Girls’ La Bella Donna Pattern (also by Love Notions).  The La Bella Donna had a slightly smaller and higher neckline.  I ended up using the Origami Neckline but I made the hood neckline slightly larger at the back of the hood so it would fit the Origami neckline

(2) I also used the Kangaroo pocket from the La Bella Donna, but I changed the shape of it slightly…just took out the curves and angked sides and made it a Trapezoid.

(3) instead of using the facing pieces for the hem, I just went ahead and hemmed it up.  This took some length out, but I was fine with it being a little bit shorter…I hemmed it an inch, so I really only lost 5/8″ in length.

SONY DSC

I also used reverse coverstitching for the hemming of the shirt, arms, hood, and pocket.

SONY DSC

Additionally, I made this silly girl a pair of Leggins (FREE pattern also from Love Notions).  The fit is so perfect on these and leggings is what she primarily wears!

SONY DSC

 

SONY DSC

We are so pleased by this pattern!  It’s so comfortable and easy to wear but also super unique!  Plus, it’s super twirly!

SONY DSC

Tours LOVE to have a sale!

So this week only, grab your copy of the women’s Origami for $8 or the girl’s version for just $6. Sale ends Saturday September 30 at 11:59pm cst.

Stop by and say hi to all the fantastic bloggers joining in!

Wednesday September 27: Ma Moose Back40Life

RAFFLECOPTER

a Rafflecopter giveaway

22007517_10210612218364928_4499924664878235261_n

One thought on “Origami Tour

Leave a Reply

