Girl · Girl Dresses

Verona Dresses Tester Tour

My favorite designer to test for is Jennuine Designs, because I love her patterns and because she really works hard and listens to testers to make her patterns perfect!! Her most recent pattern, that I happened to be lucky enough to test for is The Verona Dress.

This is a woven dress pattern (although it can be made knit as well!) with NO CLOSURES!!! It is really unique because it has a comfy fit with a fancier look to it! It is fully lined with the lining peeking out at the bottom and at the unique notched collar. It also has several fun sleeve choices and some super cool notched patch pockets (which I didn’t include in any of my versions, sadly)

I made 2 versions during testing, then one a little bit flipped version after testing ended! All three of my versions are a little bit different, but I love them all in different ways… you just can’t go wrong with this pattern!

I made my first test version sleeveless and completely according to the pattern/instructions (which are beyond amazing, as are all of the Jennuine Designs pattern instructions!) in size 3. Lucy fell between size 2 and 3 for her chest measurement, but Jennifer said it was fine to go up in size because the fit is super forgiving (and she was right!).

SONY DSC

I used some dragonfly batiked fabric that my mom bought in China for the outer layer and red with white dots cotton from Walmart for the lining.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

For my second tester version, I used knit fabric and the notched cap-sleeve option included in the pattern and again made a size 3. It’s no secret that I love sewing with knit and this pattern makes such a cute little knit dress without any adjustments!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I made my third version after testing ended and decided to mix things up a bit by adding a ruffle to each of the skirt layers and a flutter sleeve. For the ruffles, I just cut rectangles twice as long as my skirt pieces and for the flutter sleeve I used the same shape as the cap sleeve pattern piece but I doubled the length and widened it a bit just for a wider ruffle sleeve.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The pattern also had the option for a little notch on the back bodice as a cute little design feature or for kids with larger heads… Lucy’s head is up there percentile wise and did just fine without the notch, but I like the little notch!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Since you’ve probably seen enough of my 1000’s of pictures, I’ll just leave you with the link to the Verona Pattern!

Don’t forget to check out all the other fabulous Verona Dresses on tour…

Verona-Dress-Pattern-Tester-Tour

Handcrafted by RED
Our Chez Nous
Sew Not Perfect
Sweeter Than Cupcakes
Duex souriceaux
Wild and Wanderful
ART Bella Creates
Czarina Nocon
S is for Sewing
Pen Seb & Rox
Maryanndipity
Creative Needle & Threads

2 thoughts on “Verona Dresses Tester Tour

  1. Shelly, this is super cute. I like this pattern! Also, the model doesn’t get any cuter than this one!

Leave a comment