Me · Me Tops

Sloane Sweater Blog Tour

22528282_10210750787509070_5571825344334391771_n

 

I’m pleased to be joining the Love Notions Sloane Sweater Tour today!  When I first signed up for this tour, I knew I wanted to make myself a Ladies Sloane Sweater (see my previous Plaid Yoke version here) in black so I immediately ordered this black rayon bamboo french terry.  This is the same fabric I used for Lucy’s Pink Origami Sweatshirt and I really love it!  I also used a faux-leather from JoAnn’s for the yoke.

SONY DSC

 

I decided to do a bit of a hack to the pattern and make a tunic length Sloane with a pleat in the back for extra fullness.

SONY DSC

To accomplish this hack, I made the following changes to the pattern:

(1) I straightened the line between the yoke and bottom back, by making it a 90 degree angle from the fold line.  The pattern has the yoke angling down from the center.

(2) I cut the bottom back piece in from the fold 2.5″  (so I added 5″ total in the center back), then I sewed down a couple inches at the line 2.5″ in from the fold to create the pleat.  I ironed the pleat down and basted it across the top before sewing the bottom to the yoke as directed by the pattern

(3) I lengthened the front/back pieces by 3.5″ to achieve the tunic-length.

(4) I straigtened out the front hem to give it more of a high-low hem than a shirt-tail hem.  I thought this would enhance the drama in the back.

SONY DSC

That’s it…just super simple little modifications!

SONY DSC

Check out the other amazing blogs on tour…

 

And of course, the patterns (ladies and girls)…

Ladies Sloane Sweater Pattern

Girls Sloane Sweater Pattern

Girls and Ladies Sloane Sweater Bundle

 

2 thoughts on “Sloane Sweater Blog Tour

Leave a comment